KAUKAUNA — Kerri Vanderloop, a 4K teacher at Dr. H.B. Tanner Early Learning Center, was selected as a 2024 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellow, the foundation announced Tuesday.

She is one of two Kaukauna Area School District teacher to receive the honor. Becky Keehan, Literacy Coach at Park Community Charter School, also was selected.

The award comes with a grant of $6,000 and was presented to 100 teachers across the state who recognized for their leadership and service in and outside the classroom, their ability to inspire a love of learning, and to motivate their students.

“Herb Kohl believed that education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation,” JoAnne Anton, President & CEO of Herb Kohl Philanthropies said in a news release.

Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Homeschooling Parents Association.

A list of award recipients by category and CESA are available in PDF form. ​​​​​​

The Kohl Foundation award program was established by Herb Kohl, former U.S. senator, philanthropist, and businessman who died December 27, 2023. Since 1990, the foundation has awarded nearly $38 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

Paid Partnership - tap to sign up
Paid Partnership
Paid Partnership

By staff