KAUKAUNA — Kaukauna High senior offensive lineman Mitch Verstegen and senior defensive back Carson Van Dinter were named Tuesday to the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association all-state team.

Senior quarterback Finnley Doriot was named as an honorable mention.

Verstegen will play next fall in the Big 10 with Indiana, and Van Dinter will play at Iowa State.

The trio led the Ghosts to its second straight state semifinal appearance and a Fox Valley Association conference co-championship.

A week ago, they were three of five players from the Kaukauna Galloping Ghosts football team have received all-region honors from the Wisconsin Football Coach’s Association.

All region honorees are:

  • Mitch Verstegen, senior offensive lineman
  • Finnley Doriot, senior quarterback
  • Parker Schuh, junior wide receiver
  • John Neumann, senior defensive back
  • Carson Van Dinter, senior defensive back

Along with the season’s success that earned them their co-conference championship, the team was well-represented on the Fox Valley Association all-conference list.

Quarterback Finnley Doriot was named offensive player of the year and Matt Binsfeld is the coach of the year.

In the other top offensive categories, Mitch Verstegen was named offensive lineman of the year and Parker Schuh was named receiver of the year.

On defense, Kaukauna’s senior Carson Van Dinter was named defensive back of the year.

Doriot, Verstegen, Schuh, Van Dinter join cornerback John Neumann as unanimous first-team selections.

Offensive lineman Carson Ernst and defensive lineman Sawyer Steineke also were first-team selections.

Second team honorees include defensive lineman Logan Arft and kicker Osvaldo Soto Sanchez.

Honorable mentions include offensive lineman Matthew Schoenmakers, fullback Tucker Hoffman, receiver Nolan Hall and linebacker Tyler Jeseski.

Paid Partnership
Paid Partnership

By Dan Plutchak

Dan Plutchak, born and raised in Kaukauna, is cofounder of Kaukauna Community News.