Photo via
Photo via
Photo via

LITTLE CHUTE – The village of Little Chute was honored with a best revitalization initiative award at the 26th Wisconsin Main Street Awards ceremony held April 7, 2017, at Hotel Mead in Wisconsin Rapids.

The village was a co-winner in the Connect Communities Award: Best Revitalization Initiative, community over 5,500 award.

Mark R. Hogan, secretary and CEO, and other WEDC leaders were on hand to recognize the efforts by Main Street volunteers and staff for the historic preservation and downtown economic development efforts of communities in Wisconsin, according to a news release.

“A vibrant downtown is critical to a community’s overall economic development as well as the quality of life of its residents,” Hogan said. “Main Street staff and volunteers throughout the state have spent countless hours developing innovative ways to invigorate their respective downtowns and they deserve to be recognized for their efforts.”

Wisconsin Main Street is a community development program administered by WEDC that targets Wisconsin’s historic commercial districts. WEDC provides technical support and training to the 34 Main Street communities to help them revitalize their business districts based on guidelines developed by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Since the program’s inception in 1987, Wisconsin Main Street community projects have resulted in the creation of more than 2,600 new businesses and more than 13,000 net new jobs. In addition, more than $1.6 billion in public and private investment has occurred in Wisconsin Main Street communities.

In fiscal year 2016, the program resulted in the creation of an estimated 744 jobs and 138 new businesses. The program also generated $175 million in public and private investment, renovated or reconstructed nearly 300 buildings and held nearly 600 events with a total attendance of 1.6 million.

Also on hand at the event April 7, 2017 were members of WEDC’s Connect Communities Program, a companion program to Wisconsin Main Street created in 2013 to provide access to resources and training to help communities pursue revitalization and redevelopment efforts. In fiscal year 2016, the 48 participating communities added 60 net new businesses, more than 300 net new jobs and more than $45 million in public and private investment.

The awards presented April 7, 2017 night were:

Best Volunteer Engagement

Winner: Whitewater City Market, Whitewater

Best Upper Floor Rehabilitation Project

Winner: Clark Dietz Inc., Kenosha

Best Storefront Display

Winner: Monet Floral, La Crosse

Best Special Event

Co-Winner: Campfire Nights—Ladysmith Main Street, Ladysmith

Co-Winner: Artspire, La Crosse

Best Retail Event

Winner: 2016 Shop Small Raffle, Fond du Lac

Best Public/Private Partnership in Downtown Revitalization

Winner: Umbrella Art Over Third Street, Wausau

Best Historic Restoration

Winner: Connie Weigert, K.L.C. Properties; The Artisan Preservation Company; Short-Elliott-Hendrickson, La Crosse

Best Public Improvement

Winner: Second Avenue Reconstruction Project, Wausau

Honorable Mention: Free Downtown WiFi, Platteville

Best New Business

Winner: The Homesteader’s Pantry, Marshfield

Honorable Mention: Café on Main, Tomahawk

Best Façade Rehabilitation under $10,000

Winner: Simple Living & Sodie’s Cigar Shop, Osceola

Best Façade Rehabilitation over $10,000

Winner: Rogers & Rogers, LLC (123 Watson), Ripon


Best Business Development/Retention Program

Winner: 2016 Downtown Morning Marketing Meetups, Fond du Lac

Best Cooperative Business Marketing Campaign

Winner: The Twelve Days of Pewaukee, Pewaukee

Connect Communities Award: Best Revitalization Initiative – Community under 5,500

Winner: City of Cuba City, Cuba City

Connect Communities Award: Best Revitalization Initiative – Community over 5,500

Co-Winner: Reedsburg ArtsLink, Reedsburg

Co-Winner: Village of Little Chute, Little Chute

Best New Building

Winner: Renew Port Holdings/Harbour Lights, Port Washington

Best Creative Fundraising Effort

Honorable Mention: Snowflake and Banner Project, Tigerton

Winner: Watertown Santa House, Watertown

Best Interior Renovation under $50,000

Honorable Mention: Broadway Theater, De Pere

Winner: Heather Haller-White Stag, Rice Lake

Best Interior Renovation over $50,000

Co-Winner: RiverGroup Financial Advisors, Osceola

Co-Winner: The Spa Boutique at Barbershop Rock, Platteville

Best Image Item/Campaign/Event

Honorable Mention: Downtown Whitewater, Inc.-Design Committee Butts to Benches Campaign, Whitewater

Winner: 2016 Downtown Fond du Lac Farmers Market Poster Series, Fond du Lac


Best Adaptive Reuse Project

Winner: Chippewa River Distillery/Brewster Bros. Brewing Co., Chippewa Falls


Executive Director Years of Service Awards


Five Years:

Shauna El-Amin, Beloit

Shirl Breunig, Sheboygan Falls
10 Years:

Amy Hansen, Fond du Lac


14 Years:

Elaine Kroening, Pewaukee


21 Years:

Kathy Wellsandt, Rice Lake


25 Years:

Craig Tebon, Ripon


2016 Wisconsin Main Street Volunteers of the Year


Tim Taylor, Beloit

Sue Cashman, Darlington

Rose Smits, De Pere

Katie Sperbeck, Fond du Lac

Erik Bedore, Kenosha

Kelly Schotzko, Ladysmith

Kristin Cramer, Lake Mills

Kelsey Williams, La Crosse

Danielle Krohn, Marshfield

Brad Grebner, Monroe

Shirley Johnson, Osceola

Tammy LaBorde, Pewaukee

Gary Munson, Platteville

David Wellsandt, Rice Lake

Kim Bahr, Ripon

Stefanie Trakel, Sheboygan Falls

Joshua Suehring, Tigerton

Roger Glocke, Tomahawk

Madison and Samantha Kronforst, Two Rivers

Robert Gariepy, Waterford

Wanda Fredrick, Watertown

Sarah Lentz, Wausau

Sarah Linn, Whitewater


2016 Honorary Board Members


Elaine Ribarich, Beloit

Judy Boll, Darlington

MaryAlexis Pfutzenreuter, De Pere

Tom Deitte, Fond du Lac

Paul McDonough, Kenosha

Don Rubow, Ladysmith

Tom Boycks, Lake Mills

Cindy Cole, Marshfield

Tom Miller, Monroe

Alice Rekstad, Platteville

Melanie Burdick, Rice Lake

Steve Sorenson, Ripon

David Horner, Sheboygan Falls

Elaine Erickson, Tigerton

Jim Wise, Tomahawk

Rusty Walesh, Two Rivers

Lori Hemmersbach, Viroqua

Michele Jones, Waterford

Brian Konz, Watertown

Kristine Zaballos, Whitewater



2016 Wisconsin Main Street Hall of Fame Inductees


Nancy Beck, Osceola

Sandra Budewitz, Watertown

Debra Abt, Viroqua

Paid Partnership

By staff