KAUKAUNA – Marty DeCoster and Jerry Palmer will face each other for Kaukauna’s District No. 1 aldermanic seat in the April 4, 2017 election. The seat currently is held Lin Collins who filed a notice of non candidacy, and will not run for re-election, according to Kaukauna City Clerk Susan Duda.

That is the only contested local race this spring.

Kaukauna election voting districts
Kaukauna’s four aldermanic districts.

One seat will be up for election in each of Kaukauna’s three other districts all three incumbents are running for re-election.

In District No. 2, Alderman Tim Roehrig’s will run for re-election.

In District No. 3, Alderman Thomas McGinnis will run for re-election.

In District No. 4, Alderman Tony Penterman will run for re-election.

Kaukauna school board

Two of the seven seats on the Kaukauna School Board will be up for election on April 4.

They include the seats currently held by Suzanne Gertz and Sam Kelly, according to the school district website.

They both will run for re-election.

Superintendent of Public Instruction

In the only contested statewide race, Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers, a Democrat, will face the winner of the Feb. 21, 2017 Republican primary.

Dodgeville School District administrator John Humphries and retired Beloit Superintendent Lowell Holtz will face each other in the primary to advance to the April 4, 2017 general election.

By Dan Plutchak

Dan Plutchak, born and raised in Kaukauna, is cofounder of Kaukauna Community News.