Photo courtesy KPD

KAUKAUNA — Two members of the Kaukauna Police Department were recognized last week with a Best of the Badge award presented by the Outagamie County District Attorney’s Office.

Lieutenant Tom Bartolazzi and Detective Kory Krueger were honored with a teamwork award for their work during the Matthew Beyer investigation.

They were recognized along with Special Agent Jay Yerges, Department of Justice Division of Criminal Investigations, Rochelle Ederer, Department of Justice and Hailey Bastian, Outagamie County District Attorney’s Office.

The 2023 event recognizing those involved in area law enforcement for outstanding work and was held at the Hilton Paper Valley Hotel in Appleton.

Other award winners include:

Officer James Shepherd, Grand Chute Police Department, Life Saving Award

Brian Peters, Randy Southard, Robert Clement, Matthew Krzoska, John Schuette, Andrew Raschka, Nathan Borman Travis Linskens and Pat Griesbach – Outagamie County Emergency Response Team – Teamwork Award

Officer Dylan Wheelock, Oneida Police Department, Patrol Award

Officer Brandon Schnese, Appleton Police Department, School Resource Officer Award

Senior Sgts. Amanda Gollner and Katie Keuler, Grand Chute Police Department, Teamwork Award

Sgt. Lori Duven, Appleton Police Department, Victim Advocate Award

Gheng Vang, Outagamie County Sheriff’s Office, Jail Division Correctional Staff Award

Cody Todryk, Outagamie County Sheriff’s Office Communications Center, Telecommunicator Award

Sgt. Michael Medina, Appleton Police Department, Investigator Award

Marie Cunningham and Rachel Pankow, Outagamie County Health and Human Services, Social Worker Award

By Dan Plutchak

Dan Plutchak, born and raised in Kaukauna, is cofounder of Kaukauna Community News.